top of page


EB4 is an employment-based, fourth preference immigration category reserved for several types of employees and other individuals, such as religious workers, certain broadcasters, certain employees of U.S. government employees abroad and their family members, members of the U.S. armed forces, Afghan or Iraqi translators or interpreters, and Iraqis and Afghans who were employed by or on behalf of the U.S. government, among others.

You may be eligible for an employment-based, fourth preference (EB-4) visa if you are a special immigrant. The following special immigrants are eligible for the fourth preference visa:

  • Religious workers;

  • Special Immigrant Juveniles;

  • Certain broadcasters;

  • Certain retired officers or employees of a G-4 international organization or NATO-6 civilian employees and their family members;

  • Certain employees of the U.S. government who are abroad and their family members;

  • Members of the U.S. armed forces;

  • Panama Canal company or Canal Zone government employees;

  • Certain physicians licensed and practicing medicine in a U.S. state as of Jan. 9, 1978;

  • Afghan or Iraqi translators or interpreters;

  • Iraqis who were employed by or on behalf of the U.S. government; and

  • Afghans who were employed by the U.S. government or International Security Assistance Force (ISAF).

bottom of page